Thrifty Vintage Finds ~ Dormeyer Blender

After a brief trip to Florida, I Had a chance to do some junk marketing when I got back to TN.  We Picked up this cool vintage Dormeyer Blender at my favorite Goodwill store.

Antique Dormeyer Blender  Model 5902

Antique Dormeyer Blender Model 5902

It was Made in the U.S.A. (in Chicago) around 1950. This Model, 5902 still has it’s original white enameled paint on it’s heavy weighted and sturdy Metal base.  The thick, heavy glass container is in perfect condition, without any chips or cracks. They don’t make glass like that any more.  It has a light grey rubber lid with a raised chef imprint/logo.

  The generous length of cord is cracking with age and needs replacing, but since I am planning for the most part, on simply displaying this piece, I will leave it in it’s original condition.  I did plug it in and the motor sounds great and the super sharp blades work like new.  I believe they called this machine, the “Meal Maker”.  I love the old-fashioned on/off (one speed) Toggle switch; it’s very vintage and Industrial looking.

This gem was a mere $5.99 and after searching online, I found it has a resale value of at least $62.  Though I don’t have any plans on reselling it, it would look awesome in an old fashioned soda parlor!  This Blender will have a prominent and nostalgic place on my counter top as it does in history.

Have you done any antiquing or thrift store shopping lately? What cool things  have you found?

Happy Thrifting ya’ll! 😀

Leave a Reply

